#MATERAEVENTS

Mater(i)a P(i)etra


photography
from sun 20 january 2019
to sun 17 march 2019
from h 09.00 to h 20.00
Museo Nazionale d’Arte Medievale e Moderna della Basilicata Palazzo Lanfranchi
Piazzetta Pascoli Matera (MT)
Included in the Matera 2019 Passport

Suitable for all
description

Opening hours:
from Monday to Sunday 9 am - 8pm
Wednesday 11 am - 8 pm

Few would admit it, but Petra and Matera are sisters, born of the same mother rock and connected by a common thread made of stone that unites them for thousands of kilometres.  

Two cities so different that nobody would think to place them side-by-side: one in the South of Italy, a town of borders and contrasts, today the heart of European culture; the other located in the mountains of the Middle East, for centuries under the guidance of Arab populations, and named a wonder of the modern world.

Reconstructing this connection is the goal of the photographer, director and writer Carlos Solito who, with the project MATER(i)A P(i)ETRA, brings together the two places to embark on a journey through the territories of Basilicata and Jordan.

Both are cities carved into the rock, have nurtured rock civilisations and are equipped with ingenious underground canalisation systems, Matera and Petra, already twinned via UNESCO, share a unique atmosphere that is documented in the Solito project.

Evoking sounds, scents, landscapes and inhabitants of these two worlds, the Città dei Sassi is united with that of the Nabateans by a short film and 60 photographs: 30 pairs of subjects of all ages and walks of life pose in front of the camera, establishing a network of links and references made of stillness and ancient flavours, solemnity and irrepressible beauty, like a kind of shared soul.


utopie e distopie


All events of the project MATER(I)A P(I)ETRA arrow_forward_ios

ARTISTS Carlos Solito

To experience this and all the appointments of the official program of the European Capital of Culture, buy the Passport of Matera 2019. Buy

4547 views of event

Add to calendar
Sun 20 January 2019 Mon 21 January 2019 Tue 22 January 2019 Wed 23 January 2019 Thu 24 January 2019 Fri 25 January 2019 Sat 26 January 2019 Sun 27 January 2019 Mon 28 January 2019 Tue 29 January 2019 Wed 30 January 2019 Thu 31 January 2019 Fri 01 February 2019 Sat 02 February 2019 Sun 03 February 2019 Mon 04 February 2019 Tue 05 February 2019 Wed 06 February 2019 Thu 07 February 2019 Fri 08 February 2019 Sat 09 February 2019 Sun 10 February 2019 Mon 11 February 2019 Tue 12 February 2019 Wed 13 February 2019 Thu 14 February 2019 Fri 15 February 2019 Sat 16 February 2019 Sun 17 February 2019 Mon 18 February 2019 Tue 19 February 2019 Wed 20 February 2019 Thu 21 February 2019 Fri 22 February 2019 Sat 23 February 2019 Sun 24 February 2019 Mon 25 February 2019 Tue 26 February 2019 Wed 27 February 2019 Thu 28 February 2019 Fri 01 March 2019 Sat 02 March 2019 Sun 03 March 2019 Mon 04 March 2019 Tue 05 March 2019 Wed 06 March 2019 Thu 07 March 2019 Fri 08 March 2019 Sat 09 March 2019 Sun 10 March 2019 Mon 11 March 2019 Tue 12 March 2019 Wed 13 March 2019 Thu 14 March 2019 Fri 15 March 2019 Sat 16 March 2019 Sun 17 March 2019
matera
40.6630 - 16.6103
See larger map
Create itinerary
+

Preferenze Cookie

I Cookie sono costituiti da porzioni di codice installate all'interno del browser che assistono il Titolare nell’erogazione del servizio in base alle finalità descritte. Alcune delle finalità di installazione dei Cookie potrebbero, inoltre, necessitare del consenso dell'Utente.
Necessario
PHPSESSID, egoCookie, cc
Statistica
_ga, _gid
Marketing
datr, fr, sb, wd
Questa pagina fa uso di cookie per migliorare l’esperienza di navigazione. Per informazioni dettagliate sull’impiego dei cookie e come revocarne l’autorizzazione cliccare sul seguente link Maggiori Informazioni
Preferenze Accetta